A New Year

I love a fresh start. It’s the thrill of opening a new notebook and determining what you’ll write first or sharpening that pencil and enjoying it’s smooth drag across paper or personalizing a calendar and dreaming of all the possibilities the new year will bring. I usually have a list by now of all the goals for the new year, but not this time. I’ve got kids. Young ones. Gone are my color-coded schedules and concrete goal-making of the past. I am in the midst of learning how to balance life, keeping my priorities in their proper focus, and how to be flexible when it comes to making goals. Still, I wonder. Should I be striving for concrete goals? Should I be attempting to make word count each day, week, or month? Eventually, I will get back to that, but for now, I’m living in the moment. My goals are abstract, nevertheless, they are there and they act as my compass as I determine what to do with my limited free time.

 

What about you? Are your goals concrete or abstract?

Leave a Reply

