Mind over Matter

Bust through or climb over...

A writer must always be prepared to break through “the wall”

When Crocodile Dundee and his friends encountered a water buffalo in the middle of the road, I didn’t know there was so much more beyond Walter’s phrase, “Mind over matter”.  Apparently, the concept of overcoming reality or moving something with one’s mind is an old one. After reading chapter thirteen, I couldn’t help but think of Walter’s comment. Mind over matter. I’m not going to get into all the paranormal phenomenon, but I will say that what we think and how we think has tremendous influence on our life, and more specifically, our writing.

The wall, according to James Scott Bell, is where we get to a place where we feel we can’t go on and we start wondering if we should just give it up. Key word here is feel. Our feelings are temporary and can’t be trusted on the whole. Granted, there are “feelings” that aren’t connected to a) hormones; b) sleep deprivation; or c) eating one too many Twinkies. Those could be defined as intuition, but its up to us to sift through those feelings and determine what’s intuition or just plain feelings.

Be intentional about finding creative ways to bust through the wall.

Mind over matter.

Bell shares some of his own examples of busting through.

  • Write anything & everything but your novel
  • Behold it*
  • Make music
  • Exercise
  • Randomize

*Disclaimer:  I’m sorry, but I’m not going to stand in front of the mirror and say, Behold J.K. Rowling or Behold J.R.R Tolkien. But if it works for you, go for it. 🙂

When I’ve hit the wall, I’ve found it best to take a break and not think.  Maybe its just me, but there’s this thought that if things are hard then I must be going the wrong way. What? Where did that come from? Growth is hard. Anything worthwhile in life is hard…or something like that. (I think I read that somewhere…) I’ve not come up with a list like Bell did, but it got me thinking. Maybe I need to break out my old guitar or play tickle monster with my kiddos or stop surfing the internet for social interactions. 🙂

So what say you? How will you be intentional about busting through your wall?

2 thoughts on “Mind over Matter

  1. Usually when I hit a wall, it’s because I’m burning out. For me, there’s output and there’s input. If I’ve put out too much, I burn out. So I have to step back and put some in. Read books, watch movies, get outside, exercise, spend more time with the kiddos.

    I can’t believe I’ve missed like three of your posts in this series! My darn Blogger feed doesn’t update with your blog at all.

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      That’s good and I hadn’t thought about that aspect, but it definitely rings true with me.

      I’m sorry the blogger feed hasn’t kept you updated. Originally I had wanted to post every Monday morning, but then I moved it to Sunday night and now Saturday night. Crazy, but at least we have some time to discuss it. Hope your blogger feeds starts working properly. I would hate to miss your perspective.

Leave a Reply

