That Takes The Cake

As I sit here pondering what creative endeavors I should share, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to go with a another art piece, a poem, or something else entirely. But since I’m baking a birthday cake for tomorrow, I had another idea.

I got into doing birthday cakes several years ago beginning with R2D2 for a ten year old friend who LOVES Stars Wars even more than his dad, which is saying something. 🙂

Since then I’ve made countless cakes ranging from Yoda to Rapunzel, to happy frog to a grave to a bathtub. I think my favorite one was the Scrabble cake. For a friend of mine who LOVES playing Scrabble probably even more than I do. So I had to make her a Scrabble cake.


Tomorrow, we celebrate my young friend’s birthday again. This time he will be thirteen and the cake will be a Cajón. He’s a percussionist and has a room full of drums all shapes and sizes. So stay tuned for a Cajón cake…I think this one will be easy. 😉

5 thoughts on “That Takes The Cake

  1. laurenwaters says:

    These cakes are amazing! You are so talented.

    Since I love all the different topics you post about, I nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award!

    http://laurenwaters.net/2012/05/11/the-versatile-blogger-award/

  2. Great cakes, Jennette! I’ve always admired people who can make cakes and do it so well! I have a friend from high school who has a blog devoted entirely to her cake business – it’s just a side job (her and her husband own Dominoes Pizza in LF) – but she could do it full time, she stays very busy with it. http://debbieslittlecakes.blogspot.com/

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      Thanks Gabe! I checked out her link. Very cool cakes! I have yet to try fondant, which it looks like she uses it a lot. I’ve been meaning to attempt it. Its so professional looking…maybe I’ll have to post some pictures when if I get around to it…hmmm…what to make???

  3. […] last Friday, I shared my attempts at cake decorating and promised to show you all the Cajón cake that I would be working on that weekend. Drum roll […]

Leave a Reply

