My New Project

Isn’t it exciting to start something new? Perhaps not always. Sometimes we’re scared stiff, our nerves raw, our stomach a mass of wiggling worms, and maybe somewhere in all that mess we have the thrill of excitement. But what about our heart’s passion, goals, dreams? I have several passions: my family, my writing, making a difference, and being creative. I get a high just walking into a craft store and looking at all the potential for creativity. The same can be said of walking into a bookstore, smelling the books, and if I’m lucky, the store will have a coffee shop. Mmmmm… And when I look at my kids, my heart melts.

So that said, I’m starting a new project. After almost ten years of rewriting and editing, I’m moving on. Although, you might find me tweaking my first novel here and there, because I…just…can’t…quite…let it go. I’ve learned so much and I’m hoping to put all that learning to good use on my next trilogy. Exciting, yes?

I’ve been brainstorming, map drawing, name finding, history making, outlining…I’ve even started up a Pinterest board in its honor.  I find it both exciting and frustrating, but in a good way. And I have one week left to go before I take the plunge. Ever hear of National Novel Writing Month? Its where people who’ve ever dreamed of writing a book will sit down and attempt writing a 50,000 word novel in one month. Well, the fervor for NaNoWriMo, as its affectionately called, has spilled over from November into two months during the summer known as Camp NaNoWriMo. Yippee! So June 1st, I’m going to dive in and write. I don’t foresee myself reaching the 50,000 words in one month, hey, I’ve got kids, but I do see this as a great way to hit the ground running for a great, new story.

So what are your dreams? What are you doing to pursue them? Do you have any new projects you’re about to tackle or are you entrenched in one already?

8 thoughts on “My New Project

  1. laurenwaters says:

    Yippee! I love new projects. I’m struggling to find time to complete my third book of the series and I can barely find twenty minutes a night to write. I basically reread where I was the night before…then write a few pages…and then fall asleep on my keyboard. It is so hard to find time to write with little ones. Hopefully, we’ll both find more time this summer! Good luck on you new project!

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      Thanks Lauren. I hear ya. My two little ones have finally gotten into a routine where I have been able to have an hour or so to myself, which, unfortunately, I’m finding that gets eaten up by the internet and the like. 🙂 Good luck on your writing too!

  2. Gabrielle Meyer says:

    Good luck, Jennette! Exciting and scary to move on, isn’t it? I also relate to you and Lauren. I have such a small amount of time to devote to writing (between housekeeping and kidkeeping) and it’s usually eaten up by some other distraction. I’m trying to plow through editing and rewriting, but now that I know more of the “rules” it isn’t flowing as well as it has in the past. I’m hoping to get past this information dump on my brain and start finding my voice again.

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      Thanks Gabe! I agree! I think I experience every range of emotions when it comes to writing. 🙂 I had written a really cool reply to your comment but my computer ate it! So I will do my best to recapture what I said…Just wanted to encourage you about the rules and information dump and finding your voice thing… You will find it. It’s there. Once you embody the rules, its like shooting from the hip. Practice, practice, practice. Where you just keep writing and you will rediscover your voice/style. Its the art side of writing, your art. And that is one of the reasons I love NaNoWrimo, aside from getting more pots on the burners, its a great way to practice your writing because you’re supposed to turn off the “inner-editor” and just write. Getting into the habit of doing that, balancing it with the editing helps us become better writers.

  3. mjgriffor says:

    good luck at camp NaNo. i have every faith that you can make it 50,000 words. just keep writing

  4. […] an old NaNo project, rewriting is a different beast. Some of you know that I’ve attempted the Camp NaNo this month, but it seems like all hell has broken loose and has risen against me. Ha. That might be […]

  5. […] ho ho…well…lookee here…Back in May, I told y’all (yes, I’ve been converted, but you’ll still see you guys every now […]

Leave a Reply

