On Being Healthy

Snapshots: Living life balanced between dreams and reality…

Someone in our family has been sent home from the doctors with high blood pressure medicine x3, so we decided it was time to make a lifestyle change. Not to mention I’m still holding on to a post-pregnant x2 body. We try to eat healthy with minimal processed foods already, but we need to take it a step further. Less salt, less frying, and more fruits and vegetables. I see a grill in our future and maybe some new cookbooks. Although most of my cooking isn’t following a recipe…that could be my problem. All those good, old fashioned meals have a ton of yumminess which translates into bad for the heart and probably for the waist and hips as well. 🙂

And last, but not least, more exercise. My husband and I both have sedentary jobs. He’s a computer programmer. Needless to say, he sits a lot. Now, my first job being momma to my kiddos keep me on my feet, but when I get a chance I’m working on my second job: writing. I might not get as much time to write as I would like, but if all goes well, I’ll be spending more and more time sitting in front of the computer. Unless someone devises a program that we could hook up to our brains and translate our thoughts into words and put them on a computer while we exercise. On second thought, that would be scary! Or maybe we could do what Jill Williamson did and convert a treadmill into a walking, typing desk thing. Back to exercising, we’ve decided to add at least thirty minutes a day of something whether its on the Wii and I’m trying to out box him, or we’re working out to some jamming music. Never knew those days leading workouts with kids at a crisis center would come in handy. The kiddos make excellent weights and they love it. Although, they do make crunches a bit challenging. Good times.

This post was two weeks in the making, because I wanted to catch a cute snapshot of the kiddos hanging on daddy while he worked out, but the kiddos didn’t want to cooperate. So we settled for daddy doing a backward push-up (not sure what it’s called, but it works the triceps) and our littlest who thinks that if we are even remotely close to the ground, she needs to be climbing on us. I’m probably to blame for that. 🙂

A few other bloggers talk about being healthy and I thought I’d share them with y’all.

The Cheesecake Thickens: Diane M. Graham shares a bit of her journey.

Warrior Writers: Kristen Lamb blogged about writers and social media, but in the midst of it all, it’s about balance.

“Writers who are successful have to learn two things. First, we need to learn balance. I still struggle with this. The writer who is going to be here for the long-haul to reap success is the one who gets sleep, exercises and eats more than Skittles chased with Red Bull. Yeah, learned that one the hard way. Also, we must learn to balance when to have that pit bull focus, and when to ease back on the throttle and remember we have other responsibilities…like basic hygeine and social media.” 

Are you working on being healthy? What are some ways you add exercise into your busy life? Got any favorite heart healthy recipes? I’ll let you know if I come across any winners. 🙂

By the way, we got the grill. Happy Father’s Day, Love!

2 thoughts on “On Being Healthy

  1. Gabrielle Meyer says:

    Ahh…exercising and eating healthy. I try. Sometimes it’s just so much work! 🙂 Good luck on the health style changes – you won’t regret it!

Leave a Reply

