Mermaids

A mermaid I sketched a couple of years ago.

I love mermaids. If they were real, I’d want to be one. The other day I stopped to think about where that came from. Maybe because I was born in March, yes? No? I LOVE water whether it’s raining or swimming or drinking it. When I was pregnant, I wanted the experience of feeling the silky touch of water supporting me and my beach ball belly, but that wasn’t as nice as I thought it would have been. Heck, I even wanted to do a waterbirth, unfortunately, it didn’t work out, but laboring in the water–amazing! Maybe that’s too much information…

Well, to make a long story short, I was on Pinterest and looking up mermaid pictures that might match the sirens I have in my new project and I found a poster of The Little Mermaid. As a youngster, that was my favorite movie. My sister and I had memorized it and we would recite it all the time while we were washing dishes or playing outside in our plastic pool. At one time we actually had two plastic pools and we would recite the movie, complete with songs laying in one pool with the other one upside down on top of us. The acoustics were awesome.

Anyways, I repinned the image to my Childhood Revisited Board and it clicked. You know how some things are connected and you don’t see it until bang, there it is? Well, I traveled that road of mermaid past and I remembered my aunt had given me a coloring book of The Little Mermaid. I would take paper and outline Ariel over and over, and that is how I learned how to draw people. See the connection? No? That’s okay, it’s all in my crazy head. Either way, I love mermaids. Perhaps it has something to do with a coloring book and a movie or maybe its something a little deeper.

Do you have any unexplained loves? Does love/likes/etc need to be explained?

6 thoughts on “Mermaids

  1. My sister and I had the whole movie memorized, too! Recently I saw the movie and my children were amazed that I still knew it!! I was amazed, too, actually. 🙂 I love your drawing. You’re so talented.

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      Thanks Gabe! When my kids get a little older, I can’t wait to watch it with them and see the movie through adult eyes. 🙂 Hopefully that won’t ruin it for me. Ha! Maybe my littlest who LOVES water like her momma will love mermaids too…

  2. chrispydave says:

    i had the movie and music memorized…even sang one o the songs in choir one year

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog – I know this is an old post, but I LOVE mermaids too! I’m writing a mermaid novel right now, and immersing myself in everything mermaid. It definitely helps that I live near the ocean 🙂

    Have a good weekend, fellow mermaid!

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      Hi Rebecca! Thanks for stopping by! That is awesome!! All my story ideas have elements of merfolk in them, but nothing focuses on them in particular. Maybe someday!

      Hope you have a great weekend as well, and ENJOY the ocean. 🙂

Leave a Reply

