Ten Years & Counting

Today marks our tenth wedding anniversary. Wow, where does the time go? Six of those years James spent on the road, the rest of them we’ve spent living life with two young kiddos. Fun. So, to head off all those questions I’m sure is on everyone’s minds: What are you going to do to celebrate? SLEEP! Ha! We’ve got youngsters…and we’ll dream about the cruise me hubby has talked about since the day I met him, well, since he’d pursued me. Ah, yes, a trip down memory lane…

oh my, how young we looked!

Many people ask us how’d we meet. I’m from Minnesota, he’s from Zambia, Africa, and we live in Texas.  If you’d asked him first, he would have told you, Ebay. Yes, he’s a comical one. No, we met in Minnesota at a camp, and later, I found out he had met my guitar first.

It was the summer of…oh, heck, I can’t even remember. 2000? Anyways, I was up at the camp in the middle of nowhere Minnesota and I was helping them prepare and decorate for the summer. We were doing a creation theme and so we were busy making cardboard planets, animal, trees and vines. James and the Zambian Vocal Group were in route for Canada on a tour, when they were informed that their visas weren’t ready. They were stuck in Minnesota for a week, but they knew someone who knew someone who knew of this camp. Viola! Problem solved.

My first impression? He liked to talk a lot. When I first met him, he was going on about measuring the football field with a pine needle or something, and how they were going to have the world championship game of Foosball later that evening or the next, I don’t exactly remember. A coupe of days later, I heard them sing for the first time. They asked the audience if anyone knew the song: The Lion Sleeps Tonight, and in my naivety, I raised my hand. So, there I was singing: In the jungle, the mighty jungle, the lion sleeps tonight… a capella style. Yeah, that didn’t go over very well. It’s not the same as belting it out in the barn with only cows to worry about.  

But we had a connection. One time while he was playing the piano, and I asked, “Do you know–” and he started playing the song I was going to ask him. Freaky. The song: Fur Elise. While everyone was out having fun, he and some of the Zambian dudes stayed behind to help us finish the cardboard planets so that we would be able to go watch the fireworks later. ‘Course, that also meant I had to transport all of us in my 1988 Ford Aerostar rust bucket of a minivan. Just ask them about the baseball bat and the lack of muffler. My aunt said it sounded like a Harley coming down the road. Ha! See, a minivan can be useful.

Anyway, the week ended too quickly and the rest, as some people say, was history. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Ten Years & Counting

  1. Congrats you two! Have an awesome day!

  2. Diane Graham says:

    Congratulations on 10 wonderful years and I wish you both many more trips down memory lane. They are the most refreshing because you can see how far two people can go when they love each other. =)

  3. Melody says:

    Click, Click… X 10 ❤

  4. […] Ten years of marriage! […]

Leave a Reply

