Crashed Hard Drive

Really, did that just happen?

I think I’m in denial. My husband’s computer’s hard drive crashed this past Saturday. It’s not just any computer. This was his monstrous screen, video editing, audio recording, website designing computer. And most of our pictures and movies are on it.

I should be bawling my eyes out, but I’m not. At least not about the computer, but that’s whole other story right there. Sigh. He says we should be able to copy what’s on the hard drive. I hope so. Maybe that is the hope that stops me from mourning the loss of all those precious memories, or I’m in denial. Guess I can’t change it, so why bother with it, right?

Still, if all my hubby’s hard work is lost? Oh, that’d be worse. Memories? We carry with us, whether we remember them or not, because we lived them. But all that work on songs, websites, etc can’t be duplicated. So here’s hoping for a full recovery of all the files, once we can get a replacement, and that the electric tape wrapping my laptop’s plug together continues to hold up until we can get a new charger. And yes, I did back up the most recent versions of my works-in-progress.

As more and more people are depending on technology, more and more people are having to deal with this. So, let’s have a pity party together. Ha! But really, what causes a hard drive to crash? Aside from overheating and hardware failure. Have you dealt with this before?

2 thoughts on “Crashed Hard Drive

  1. laurenwaters says:

    This has happened to me before. It is a terrible, terrible feeling. I’m so sorry for you both. Last year my laptop crashed with all my writing and family pics. The apple geniuses were able to switch the files over though but the good news is they told me you can always send your hard drive to a place in CA where they can save anything. Even though the price was steep ($500), it’s good to know that all is not lost forever. I’m hoping for an easy fix for you!

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      Hi Lauren! I hear ya. Sorry you had to go through all that. I hope my laptop hangs in there…eek. I’m hoping it won’t cost too much, but at least, we know that it can be done. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

