Celebrating the Curse Bearer

Today’s the day!

We are celebrating the release of Curse Bearer by Rebecca P. Minor.

Curse Bearer

Isn’t the cover beautiful?

I “met” Curse Bearer a long time ago at the Marcher Lord Select contest where the readers got to vote to pick the next book Marcher Lord Press would release. It was insanity, but fun. I was new to online forums, so I kept pretty quiet. It got as far as the second to last phase where readers had to whittle eight possible books down to three.  And then I lost interest in the contest. 🙂 Now, here we are, three years later, and Curse Bearer is hitting the shelves. So without further ado:

Curse Bearer is the story of a strong-willed young woman willing to sacrifice her life to save her father, but soon discovers there’s more to his illness than meets the eye.

Wow. Where to begin? The story was tight and flowed well. Soon, I was swept away on an adventure. It’s hard to share my favorites and why I loved the story without giving it all away.

First, I loved the characters: Danae, Praesidio, Mizzletorp, and Culduin. And if you pay close attention, you’ll discover a mention of our beloved military elf, Vinyanel, from The Windrider Saga. The characters felt real, complete with flaws and strengths. Danae’s stubbornness/strong will got on my nerves sometimes. I kept yelling at her, no, don’t do it! Guess that makes for a good story, huh? But by the end…oops, can’t go there. 🙂 Anyway, I can’t wait to see how the story will unfold.

Secondly, many fantasy stories I’ve read get carried away with descriptions, and I tend to skim them, but I felt this story had a good balance between descriptions and action. The writing is rich and has an elevated feel to it. There are layers and depth to this story, but one thing I came away with was choices have consequences, good or bad, or yet unseen, but they are there. And I love how she intertwined the faith elements within the story.

I will be looking for more from this author. Check it out if you get a chance. She has the first chapter on her website, if you’re interested in previewing it.

And I will be hosting my first interview and giveaway so stay tuned! If you have any questions you’d like to ask Rebecca P. Minor, send them to me or put them in the comments below. Thanks!

We’ll be returning to our regular Yo Ho A Writer’s Life For Me next Monday. Until then, go have an adventure, read a book! Maybe the Curse Bearer. 😉

4 thoughts on “Celebrating the Curse Bearer

  1. Kat Heckenbach says:

    I loved Curse Bearer, too! Just finished it yesterday :).

  2. […] Minor. Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to spend it with us. A couple of Mondays ago, I mentioned that I had met Curse Bearer, what was then titled Sword of the Patron, in a contest […]

  3. […] seen her around here. We did an interview several months back, and I posed a review of it here. GOOD stuff! Book summary from […]

Leave a Reply

