Celebrating My Precious

Four years ago, I gave birth to my precious son. And yes, that is play on my precious… yes, friends, you know who you are! You see, for six years we had desired his arrival. Since we’re not guaranteed tomorrow, my hubby and I figured we’d start our family right away. Then a year passed, and another one. Pretty soon, I didn’t care if I ever had kids. It’s funny really, how I’ve come full circle. First I wanted to be a homemaker, that didn’t happen, then I was going to be a career woman, and then I got pregnant. Ha. But in that time my desire to be an author was rekindled.

My son’s name was long picked out before he was even thought of. Samueli. God has heard. (with a Zambian twist to it) When and if we ever got pregnant. Perfect right? Well, I wasn’t entirely certain about that name until I had watched Lord of the Rings for the umpteenth time, but this time I was pregnant and fell in love with the name. Frodo and Sam in Mordor. You know the scene. Frodo can’t go on, and Sam is talking to him about the shire and strawberries. Then Sam hauls Frodo up and carries him. Sigh.

Happy Birthday my precious Sam!

Leave a Reply

