NaNoWriMo

Amazing how a couple of months pass and our direction changes. I’ve been feeling a little like Captain Jack Sparrow staring at his compass, but the needle just keeps spinning. Ha!

Yo ho ho…well…lookee here…

Back in May, I told y’all (yes, I’ve been converted, but you’ll still see you guys every now and again) that I was shelving my first novel and starting something new. But nine years of writing, rewriting, editing, reading, learning don’t let go so easy. So, what’s this got to do with National Novel Writing Month? Well, I’m taking my first book off the shelf and writing book three in the trilogy. I figure if I can write the big ending, then I’ll know better how to improve the first book. I can make sure plants have payoffs, and payoffs have plants from the very beginning. I can clarify the overarching plot and the plots for each individual book as well as the character development throughout the whole trilogy. Book two is already written and is awaiting edits, which I’m thinking of applying in the next two weeks before I hit book three. Am I insane?

When I think up story ideas, I don’t think in terms of one book plot. They tend to stretch out to three and beyond. This story world has three trilogies that take place in it. But since this is my first trilogy, I’m thinking I need to finish what I’ve started to learn to write better stories. So this November I will attempt to hammer out at least 50,000 words of book three. I’ve already got an outline, we’ll see how it will unfold. And now that I’ve told y’all, there’s no going back. 🙂

So who’s with me? Are you writing anything for NaNoWriMo?

Participant 180x180 (2)

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. Tim Ward says:

    I like this idea, especially if the plot you had in mind was for the trilogy and not just the first book. This could go in the “finish what you start” advice, and when you finish book three, maybe then book one won’t feel like a trunk novel because you’ll know what it needs to improve. Keep up the hard work J.L.!
    I’ll be editing draft five of book one, so no time for nano this year. I’ll miss it, but I can still cheer people on. 🙂

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      Thanks Tim! When I first started writing this trilogy, the idea was just for one book, and then it morphed into three. So individual plots had to be reworked to create three separate books, yet all tied into the overarching plot of the trilogy. I don’t know what I hadn’t thought of writing book three sooner. ha!

      I hope your editing goes well. I’ve lost count how many edits and drafts I’ve done on this book, but here’s hoping I’ve learned something that will make the rest a little bit cleaner. And we’ll take all the cheers we can get. I’ll be cheering you on on your edits, we all need it. 🙂

      Thank for stopping by and commenting!
      -J

  2. I’m attempting Nano this year, for the first time in years. My plan is to make a big dint on the first draft of a prequel to Trinity. At the same time I want to keep going with my current WIP, so once I’ve done the 1,666 nano words every day, I’ll be hoping to do around 1,000 on RR. I see lots of insanely early mornings in my future!

    I think we’re both insane 😉 Good luck 🙂

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      We have to be! Ha! Wow, you’re doing double time. I didn’t do too well during Camp Nano in June, so I’m really trying to clear my plate and make sure I get my writing in for Nov. I wish I was a morning person, but every time I try I plan to wake up early, my kiddos will wake up before me. Ha! It’ll be late nights for me, if my brain won’t turn to mush. 🙂 Good luck yourself! What’s your username? I’m j2starshine. We can cheer each other on.

  3. I hear what you say about early mornings and the kids. It’s like they know you’re up and about and will come out rubbing eyes and saying they’re tired. (I’m sitting quietly at the other end of the house typing…?). After saying I’m definitely not doing NaNo, I’ve signed up again. The writing has been pretty slow lately, so am hoping it will all fall back into place and respond well to the emergency paddles…

    I’ve been tossing up with finishing a 3rd book in a trilogy, or finishing the 1st book (sadly I wrote most of the 3rd book first – which is great to know what you’re setting up in book one, but has also made me impatient with book 1 because I just want to catch up with the story). I haven’t quite decided yet. But hope to see you over there!

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      Awesome! I’ll be looking for ya.

      Perhaps, since you’re struggling with impatience, NaNo will help you get the 1st book written…in a month 🙂 Which book do you feel the spark, the energy, the creative juices flowing?

Leave a Reply

