Friday Fun With Rebecca P. Minor

Fantasy author Rebecca P. Minor

Welcome to the final installment of our interview with Rebecca P. Minor.  We’ve talked about her books on Monday. Wednesday we discussed the release party and the writerly life. Today we’re going to cut loose and have some fun. But of course our first question is the obvious question every author is asked. Hey, we got to start somewhere right? Besides, we really do want to know. So without further ado:

What are some of your favorite books? Do they claim any influence over your writing?

My introduction to fantasy was through Madeleine L’Engle, especially her A Swiftly Tilting Planet, and I still love her work. I’m also a huge Narnia and Middle Earth fan. One of my newer favorites is Brandon Sanderson, especially his novel The Way of Kings. Lloyd Alexander’s Chronicles of Prydain is a series I also think gets overlooked far too often, with as delightful as it is. Each of those authors have a formative influence on my work—especially Tolkien, with my desire to build a rich world with deep nuance. I don’t even begin to hope I will ever come within football fields of his mastery, but he’s a good example to follow.

If you could be any character from the books you love, who would you be and why? What story world would you want to live in?

Hmmm. Characters are typically subjected to a lot of misery, so I don’t know I could say I want to be any of them. If I have to pick…maybe Galadriel. She saw her fair share of challenges, but then she got to go to Valinor and live among the Valar, so that wouldn’t be too shabby.

You know, when I asked that I hadn’t thought about all the torturous things writers put their characters through. Still, knowing the ending would help. 🙂  

As a human:

What’s your favorite food? What’s your chosen method of staying caffeinated? Coffee or Tea or Coke? Oh, winter’s coming, hot cocoa?

Favorite food? Probably cheese. Or crab. Or crab with cheese. As for caffeine, I was exclusively a Coke drinker until the last couple of years, and it’s still my preference. If I’m especially tired, though, my new favorite is iced latte with caramel.

I love iced lattes, but I’ve become more of tea person. Chai latte. Yum! And now I want something cheesy. Ha! What’s your favorite time of the year and why?

My favorite time of year is definitely fall. I love the deep amber light of the late afternoon, and crisp air, and the smell of burning leaves on the wind. Plus, fall means marching band season, which is one of my lingering weird obsessions from my high school days.

If you could have anybody from history, real or fiction, over for dinner or a game of cribbage or whatever suits your fancy, who would you have?

Well, we wouldn’t play cribbage because I would be so lost I would look like a complete ding-dong. Maybe dominoes. But as for who I would have over for that? I think I would want it to be a group get together of J.R.R. Tolkien, Tony Stark, and Peter (the disciple.) That should make for some interesting conversation. But my husband says no on Tony Stark. 😀

Awesome! Well, there you have it. Thank you Rebecca P. Minor for taking time out of your busy schedule to do this interview and hang out with us this past week. 

The Giveaway!

Head on over to Rebecca P. Minor’s Facebook page and enter for a chance to win Curse Bearer, your choice of ebook for Kindle or paperback; the novellas Divine Summons & A Greater Strength for Kindle, a specially designed T-Shirt, or a character sketch* of our favorite couple: Danae and Culduin.**

*Sketch will be available to ship in January.

**Due to shipping cost, we cannot at this time ship internationally. International winners will receive Kindle novellas Divine Summons & A Greater Strength in place of the T-shirt or character sketch.

Giveaway ends midnight on November 10th 2012

I’ll announce the winners on Sunday. Whoohoo! Now go have an adventure, read a book!

3 thoughts on “Friday Fun With Rebecca P. Minor

  1. Thanks for posting these three installments, Jennette. I deeply appreciate you taking this time on your blog to promote my work, and just the fun of being able to do the interview with you.

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      Your welcome! It was fun. Thanks for taking the time out of your super busy schedule to do this. It’s funny it took three blog posts, but we had a lot to talk about. ha!

  2. […] a behind-the-scenes look at the writerly life and her book release party. We closed out the week on Friday with some just for fun questions. Here’s hoping you discovered a new favorite […]

Leave a Reply

