Resist the Urge to Explain

R. U. E. was one of the first acronyms I’ve learned on my journey within critique groups and reading writing related books. My old writings were full of explanation, but I thought it was my character’s thoughts. Albeit stating the obvious. After reading Self-Editing for Fiction Writers by Renni Browne & Dave King, I can catch those pesky unneeded expositions…most of the time. 🙂

Here are some blog posts on this topic.

Learned About Writing

Helping Writers Become Authors

Blood-red Pencil

Kathy Temean 

2 thoughts on “Resist the Urge to Explain

  1. E.K. Carmel says:

    During revision, I catch my characters explaining things way too often! Then it’s delete, delete, delete. Initially, though, I think it’s good to get it on the page. Some things have slipped out that I didn’t realize about a character.

    But, no, in general, these don’t need to be in the final draft.

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      I agree. I’ve come back to older manuscripts and I’m like what was the motivation, the purpose behind this or that. So allowing it in the first draft is almost commendable. ha! But yeah, we can cut the extraneous information. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

