Starflower Review

After reading Heartless by Anne Elisabeth Stengl, I knew I had discovered an extraordinary author, but I told myself I needed to read more of her stuff just to make sure. And then I read Starflower. It is safe to say, I will read everything by this author.

Wow. Where to start.

First, I wasn’t sure what to expect. The cover is beautiful. From the back cover you think the story is only about Bard Eanrin winning his Lady Gleamdren’s favor by rescuing her from a dragon-witch, but it is so much more than that. It’s also the story of Starflower, the troubled young maiden Eanrin rescues. And boy does she have her own story to share which ties in nicely with Eanrin’s rescue mission. I opened the book, and I was engaged from page one.

The characters are vibrant and quirky. They had me laughing out loud, and even tearing up at times. I met Eanrin and “Starflower” in Heartless, book one of the Tales of Goldstone Wood, and it was great getting to know them more, to see them grow throughout the story. I’m left wondering what happens in the next 1600 years before we meet them again in Heartless. Maybe we’ll find out in her next book.

The creativity of the worlds, the descriptions, the way the story is told: it’s amazing. At one point while I was reading, I remember thinking this story is all over the place, yet I didn’t feel lost. The prose sung, the characters danced. It was a magical read, totally swept me away. One to come back to again and again.

Highly recommended if you love adventurous fairy tales. A side note: although this is book four in the Tales of Goldstone Wood series, it can be read as a stand-alone. Also in her series:

And check out what’s happening in December!

Now go have an adventure, read a book!

By the way, Heartless is free as I post this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

