What’s On Your Shelf?

At six months, this boy’s after his momma’s heart

I was looking at my kids’ bookshelf and wondering what makes a good children’s book. There are those the kids can’t get enough of, and some they aren’t interested in, yet. Of course, any movie my kids watch, they’ll like the books associated with it, but a bunch of their favorites are ones we’ve stumbled on or were given to us, instead of ones I’ve picked up thinking they’d like it. So how do we find books they love? When I go to the library or bookstore, I’m a little overwhelmed with all the choices available, and with two rambunctious kiddos in tow, I don’t have time to peruse their shelves. Either way, I’m always looking for some great children’s stories.

Here’s a list of some of their favorite books thus far based on how often I’ve read them for the past four years:

    • Llama, Llama Red Pajama by Anna Dewdney
    • Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss
    • Fox in Sox by Dr. Seuss
    • Peek-a-Boo, I Love You by the De Villiers Family
    • Good Night, Sleep Tight, Little Bunnies by Dawn Apperley
    • Rock it, Sock it, Number Line by Bill Martin Jr & Michael Sampson
    • We’re Going on a Bear Hunt by Michael Rosen
    • Bears on Wheels by Stan and Jan Berenstain
    • Bringing the Rain to Kapiti Plain by Verna Aarema
    • Big Red Barn by Margaret Wise Brown
    • Brown Bear, Brown Bear by Bill Martin Jr & Eric Carle
    • Any Cars or Veggietales books

My favorite children’s book: I Know an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly. How morbid! I’m wondering when to introduce that one to them. Ha!

So what’s out there? What books do your kids devour? What’s your favorite children’s book?

4 thoughts on “What’s On Your Shelf?

  1. Kat Heckenbach says:

    “The Dragons are Singing Tonight.” It’s a collection of poetry by Jack Prelutsky and art by Peter Sis.

    Also, “The Princess and the Kiss” and “The Squire and the Scroll” by Jennie Bishop.

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      Oh, they sound lovely! I’ve actually heard of the last two. There’s a group here called the Fellowship of Christian Swordsmen and they got permission to perform a skit based on the last two. Will add them to my wish list. 🙂 Thanks!

  2. Ken Doyle says:

    My daughter was really into the Warriors (cats!) series for a while. These days, it’s a mix.

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      I’ve heard a lot about them from 10 year old I used to kid sit. I think I actually have downloaded the first book, but have yet to read them. One of these days 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing!

Leave a Reply

