The Next Big Thing

I’ve been tagged! Thank you, Aaron DeMott. I’ve been seeing this “The Next Big Thing” around cyberspace for awhile, and it has finally made its way to my little corner of the web. Once we’ve been tagged, we’re supposed to copy and answer the questions, then tag five other people. So without further ado:

MP910221051[1]

1) What is the title of your next book/work?

Something dragon something or another.

2) Where did the idea come from for the book/work?

Honestly, a friend of mine had read through my first book and said, what if what they thought was one thing, but turned out it was the opposite. Totally paraphrasing. So I started thinking…

3) What genre does your book/work fall under?

YA Fantasy

4) What actors would you choose to play the part of your characters in a movie rendition?

Funny you should ask. I usually don’t think along these lines, but to help get the creative juices flowing I’ve been trolling the internet and pinning images on my secret Pinterest Board. I had a bunch before I deleted them all awhile back, so now I’m slowly building again, but I haven’t decided yet.

5) What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Lily Delaney’s father, the world’s famous elven explorer, disappears on his last expedition, and she is determined to find him, but she soon discovers that some things are best left unfound.

6) Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Maybe small press, maybe agency. We shall see.

7) How long did it take you to write the first draft of the manuscript?

A month. Thank you NaNoWriMo.

8) What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Ugh….

9) Who or what inspired you to write this book?

My friend Preston. 🙂

10) What else about the book might pique the reader’s interest?

Swashbuckling adventure, dragons, other winged animals, flesh eating merpeople, elves, humans, dwarves, lizard people, pirates, true love, secrets…Now I can’t very well giveaway the heart of the story, now can I?

And now I tag:

Clare Davidson

Gabriel Meyers

Lynn Donovan

Melissa Lee

Raewyn Hewit

12 thoughts on “The Next Big Thing

  1. How amazing that you wrote the whole first draft in a month. I need to get on the NANO train next time. And I LOVED your answer to #8, “Ugh…”. I dread questions like that too. I never know what to say. LOL

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting Laura! I love NaNo and used to be a huge advocate for it, still am in a way, but I’ve been having to reevaluate things around here. I’m thinking it might be a season I’m in. I’ve got a 4yr & 2 yr old. 🙂 I’m trying to establish a “slow & steady wins the race” habit.

      Some ideas come to me and I think: oh, wow let’s have a mash up of Indiana Jones, Wild, Wild West & Stargate…but those are all movies, not books. 🙂

      • That’s quite a mash-up. I would SO watch that movie. LOL

        Slow and steady is more my way… but way too slow imo. I know I have a real problem with being too picky, and wasting time trying to get every word perfect on my first time through. I have a friend that goes crazy just watching how slow I am to respond in the FaceBook chat! ~snicker~ Anyway… I need to learn to keep plodding forward a little better, and stop attempting to edit and write at the same time.

        Well, good luck with everything you are working on. I know it’s tough with little ones underfoot. 🙂

      • J. L. Mbewe says:

        Everyone has a rhythm, and I’m beginning to find that editing as I go to be helpful on the rewrite, I think. It’s been like pulling teeth, but I think I’m expecting the awesome, hot, flow of creative juices that happened when I wrote it for NaNo. Now its slow and steady, and understanding the process better too. 🙂 I’m excited for your book to come out. Wish you well with it!

  2. annerallen says:

    J.L. You’re a winner of a paperback copy of HOW TO BE A WRITER IN THE E-AGE…AND KEEP YOUR E-SANITY in my blog contest. It’s got great tips to help you with your Dragon Something book published 🙂 Contact Catherine Ryan Hyde for your copy. Her blog is at http://www.catherineryanhyde.com/. Congratulations! (BTW, it’s good to put an email address in your “about me” data. I could have been an agent or publisher…)

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      Hi Anne, thanks for letting me know and the tip about the contact information. I shall go retrieve my prize. Thanks! 🙂

      • annerallen says:

        Thanks for contacting Catherine! I hope you enjoy the book, Jennette! (And I apologize for the typo above. I meant “help with GETTING your Dragon Something book published.) I kind of like “Dragon Something” as a title. 🙂

      • J. L. Mbewe says:

        Ha! Thanks! I wasn’t quite ready to reveal it’s working title yet. Once I get it closer to publication, then maybe I’ll use it in public.

        I did not even catch the typo & I read it several times, thinking, what contest, then it dawned on me. Duh! Thanks for dropping by! I would have completely forgotten about it. 🙂

  3. Your current project sounds really interesting 🙂
    Thanks for tagging me, but I’m already been got on this one!

  4. […] getting hard to figure out which is my current work in progress. Ha! I mentioned in the Next Big Thing blog post several weeks ago that I was working on dragon something or another and that I was inspired by […]

  5. […] Jennette’s YA fantasy: “Lily Delaney’s father, the world’s famous elven explorer, disappears on his last expedition. She is determined to find him, but she soon discovers that some things are best left unfound.” […]

Leave a Reply

