Review: Bid the Gods Arise

maZoë Book Club‘s first book of the year was Bid the Gods Arise by Robert Mullin. An amazing book. What a way to start the year!

Bid the Gods Arise (The Wells of the Worlds, #1)

You can find Robert Mullin on Facebook.

This adventure begins as the story of Maurin and his cousin who get abducted off their planet and sold into slavery on another planet, and then we find them playing a part in a much larger, complex story.

I loved this book.

What blew me away first, was the plot. The complexity of it, how the author wove all the subplots together, switching between the antagonist and protagonists. I never knew what I’d find next, it kept me turning the pages.

I liked the balance of action and description when it came to the setting. I have a bad habit of skimming long drawn out descriptions. I definitely felt like I was in a different world, embedded in it. I could feel the depth of the world.

Then the characters. Deep, rich, varied. They felt real and I loved how they all have grown through the book.

It’s a beautiful story. And just like life, it’s gritty, it’s brutal, but the author handled it well. I will be reading more from this author.

_____

What book have you read recently, and you were just blown away?

5 thoughts on “Review: Bid the Gods Arise

  1. P. Creeden says:

    I’m still not finished – about 100 pages to go…

  2. Ken says:

    Adding it to my “to read” list!

  3. […] and his debut novel, Bid the Gods Arise. Love it. I did a review earlier, and you can find it here. Stop by Ms. Stengl’s blog and enter a chance to win a paperback copy of Bid the Gods Arise. […]

Leave a Reply

