Flaming Go-karts

My family is a creative bunch. Seriously. When I sat down to write this post, I was struck with how creative they are. One grandma sewed quilts, the other did some woodworking. My relatives paint and create stuff. My parents the same way. Painting, building, creating. You name it, they could do it.

One of my dad's artwork

One of my dad’s artwork that hangs in my office (our office/guest room/etc)

Well. One of my uncles built a go-kart out of items he found in a junk yard. Yeah, my family would visit landfills on occasion  That’s how we came by our lawnmowers and parts to a snowmobile that I crashed as a kid, but that’s a different story for a different day. 🙂

So, my uncle’s go-kart. All I remember was the steering wheel was an actual tricycle wheel. And he liked taking the wrench, touching it to the engine, gas tank thingy. I don’t remember what it was exactly, except that when you touched it: Ouch! I think that’s why I don’t like to just push random buttons without first knowing what they are supposed to do. You never know, it could zap you or be an ejector seat or a secret passageway. Can you tell I have an active imagination?

But one day I got to drive it. I was all over their place, up and down hills. Okay, it was their yard, but as little as I was, their lawn looked like hills. It was a blast.

So, there I was zooming circles around the house, and all of sudden every one is charging out of the house after me. My uncle had the fire extinguisher. I was like, oh, what’s going on? Then behind me I see flames shooting out of the back of the go-kart. Needless to say, I stopped and got out quickly.

Yeah, that was the last time I remember driving the go-kart.

What crazy adventure did you have as a kid? Please share!

The weekend is almost upon us. Have a good one!

2 thoughts on “Flaming Go-karts

  1. E.K. Carmel says:

    Great story!

    Unfortunately, none of our adventures when I was a kid ended in such a spectacular fashion! I remember roaming with my sibs in the semi-rural area where we grew up. We played by the creek, brought home frogs and crayfish, pretended we were in whatever movie or tv show we’d recently seen, and my sister and I pretended we had a restaurant and collected flowers and weeds for the food we served up on our plastic play dishes. Kind of normal stuff, I guess.

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      Thanks! That’s still pretty cool. Yes, frogs…I fell into a flooded ditch trying to catch them one time, ha! All part of growing up, right? Pretend restaurant is the best. My sister and I would do that too. I don’t know if I could have touched a crayfish. Up north we didn’t have them, they look so…alien! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

