Theme Songs

Throughout seasons in my life I have songs, verses, quotes that speak to me, move me, encourage me, reach me.  Where words fail, these songs reach deep inside, they resonate and release me from myself.  They are my companions on this journey. Some stay with me forever like Find me in the River by Delirious. Hurt by Johnny Cash, which inspired my poem, To Walk Among Thorns.

love's like a hurricane

A few songs have inspired me to paint such as How He Loves by David Crowder Band. Some are from my youth like Runaway Train by Soul Asylum. Then there are others that depend on the mood like How You Remind Me by Nickelback. Heck, I even have a writer’s theme song I shared with y’all back in September of last year. The list is endless.

But this one…

This one is my theme song for this season.

What music has spoken to you?

What season are you in? Do you have a theme song?

 

6 thoughts on “Theme Songs

  1. Ken Doyle says:

    My theme sings vary continuously, as I often listen to music while writing. At the moment, mine is Shake It Out (Florence + The Machine).

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      That’s what I’m finding too. I used to listen to music all the time, but since having kids, I savor the quiet when I get it, but I do like to listen to soundtracks during my writing times at night. Except I’ve listened to the ones I’ve had so much, I’m kind of ready for something fresh and new. We shall see. 🙂

      I looked up Shake it Out. At the beginning of the song, I was like one kind of music is this, but once the drums started, I really liked it. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Ken Doyle says:

    Oops… That should be theme “songs”.

  3. For this point in my life, for some reason I keep coming back to Merciful by Rebecca St. James, and also So We Never Got to Paris by Out of the Gray. I really sympathize with your theme songs of choice, too. I love Plumb. 🙂

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      I’ve never heard of So We Never Got to Paris, but I get that. Love Rebecca St. James, Merciful has an edge to it, kind of spy mission sound. I like it! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

