Tagged! It’s Historical Fiction.

Hey yall. I’ve been tagged by Charlene Newcomb to participate in listing five of my favorite historical novels. Now, most of you all know I’m in to fantasy, but I do venture out on occasion. When I was a teen I read anything and everything that I could get my hands on, but I didn’t really keep up with it all, thus my memory is a little rusty. So without further ado, my five favorite historical reads…although I might have to fudge the genre a bit. 🙂

Christy

Christy by Catherine Marshall

Changed my life. I stopped reading for almost ten years after that. Yeah, we won’t go there.

Flint

Flint by Louis L’ Amour

Read a lot of L’Amour books. One of my dad’s favorites. This one I still remember the lava beds.

Redeeming Love

Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers 

It gets a little lengthy in the middle but loved the story of redemption.

Dances With Wolves

Dances with Wolves by Michael Blake

Where the Red Fern Grows

Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls

I would say Ghost Fox by James Archibald Houston, but I can’t remember if this is the “Fox” one I read or not, it sounds very familiar. Or it would be a toss up between Gary Paulsen’s The Foxman or Call of the Wild by Jack London. The Black Stallion series doesn’t exactly fit this criteria does it?

Well, there you have a glimpse into my past. Perhaps I need to read some more historical fiction. 🙂

And now for the people I tag:

C. L. Dyck

Gabrielle Meyers

Keli Gwyn

Merry Farmer

Lynn Donovan

9 thoughts on “Tagged! It’s Historical Fiction.

  1. Gabrielle Meyer says:

    Love to see what you’ve read! Redeeming Love is one of my all-time favorite books. Thanks for the tag! I’ll have to think hard about this one – I’ve read so many historicals, it will be hard to choose!

  2. Aaron DeMott says:

    Hmmm…

    1. Anything by G.A. Henty

    Historical fiction covering a wide period.

    http://www.amazon.com/The-Dragon-Raven-ebook/dp/B0082R6C64/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1362842636&sr=8-4&keywords=Henty

    2. The Greatest Knight by Elizabeth Chadwick

    A factionalized true story of England’s greatest hero.

    http://www.amazon.com/Greatest-Knight-Unsung-Queens-Champion/dp/1402225180/ref=sr_1_5?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1362842869&sr=1-5&keywords=Chadwick

    3. Across Five Aprils by Irene Hunt

    Great story of the civil war

    http://www.amazon.com/Across-Five-Aprils-Irene-Hunt/dp/0425182789/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1362843063&sr=1-1&keywords=across+five+aprils

    4. Any of the YWAM Historical series.

    Historical fiction biographies of various people. Written at the YA level.

    5. Last one’s a toss-up… so many to choose from… Let’s just say 1776 by David McWhatshisname

    http://www.amazon.com/1776-David-McCullough/dp/B0084IP0S2/ref=sr_1_2?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1362844617&sr=1-2&keywords=1776+by+david+mccullough

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      Thanks for stopping by! The Dragon and the Raven sounds cool, and The Greatest Knight. Will have to check it out. Thanks for sharing!

      • Aaron DeMott says:

        Anything by Henty is good, and they’re all in the public domain. Great for kids in school, and for fun!

        If you’ve never heard of William Marshal, go read The Greatest Knight now! Marshal was undeafeted in the turney, a role model for loyalty, and he was way ahead of his time in his treatment of women.

      • J. L. Mbewe says:

        Well, I’ve downloaded The Dragon and the Raven. And I will add The Greatest Knight. 🙂 I think I might have seen that book around before. I’ll check it out. Thanks!

      • Char says:

        I’m reading The Greatest Knight right now. It is excellent!

  3. Keli Gwyn says:

    Redeeming Love would make my list, too. I’d have a hard time choosing the others, because there are so many historical authors whose work I greatly admire.

Leave a Reply

