Coffee Brains

Good Monday morning!

coffee

WANA Commons
photo credit: thesparechangekitchen: Louise Vansleve

Ha, I can hear the yawns and the growls. Don’t talk to me before I’ve had my caffeine. Can you relate? Three Sundays ago, I was making coffee at church in one of those BIG hot-water-ready machines and I poured half of the freshly made decaf back in the water reservoir. What? Yeah, hadn’t had my usual dose of caffeine that morning. Yawn.

Recently a friend posted a link to an article about caffeine. I ignored it. I was afraid it was going to be one of those STOP drinking coffee articles. I love my tea, my coffee, but I’m finding that its helping less and less to get a good jump start on the day, except for staving off caffeine-depended headaches. And a second cup to help pull me through the afternoon just makes me jittery and buzzy. Coffee Brains. So I decided to read the article. Bingo. My lack of get-up-and-go stemmed from two reasons.

  1. I’m a mom of a spit-fire little monkey and the energizer bunny coupled with late nights, yeah, no amount of caffeine is going to fix that. SLEEP.
  2. My body has developed a tolerance for it. So I get less bang for my cup of joe/tea in the morning. Man, it sounds like Iโ€™m drugs or something. Oh, wait, I am!

So what should we do? Ante up the serving? No, this articles suggests lessening your caffeine take and saving it for the day you really need a jump start. Yeah, like that’s going to happen. LOVE me some tea in the morning, a little sugar, a little cream. Mmmmโ€ฆ

But perhaps there’s another way? Just maybe if I take better care of myself and eat healthier and get more sleep, would I need the caffeine? I used to shower in the morning, that helped a little but with the monkey and the energizer bunny, that won’t be happening for a long time. Now is not the time for muddled brains! I need clarity, objectivity and a color-coded schedule. I thought caffeine helped with those, but not so much anymore.

What do you think? Yay or nay? Are you a coffee, tea, or a pop person? (Yeah, yeah, I know. I’m from the North.) What do you do to get a jump start on the day? Any of y’all use B vitamins or supplements?

Well, here’s to a great start for the rest of the week. And no, I won’t be cutting back on my caffeine intake at this point, I’m only drinking a pot two cups a day. ๐Ÿ˜€

12 thoughts on “Coffee Brains

  1. Catherine Johnson says:

    Yikes I’m up to about four now. Did itcsay anything about tea being better thsn coffee. My husband keeps saying there’s more caffeine in tea but coffee wakes you up better.

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      Thanks! I jut realized I forgot to post the link for the article. I will do that as soon as I can get to Internet. The article was talking about all caffeine in general.

      And thanks for the shout out on twitter. Appreciate it!

  2. Catherine Johnson says:

    p.s. so funny your coffee in the water story

  3. J. L. Mbewe says:

    Here’s the link to the article. I will hyperlink it in the post later this afternoon. Sorry for the slip up. ๐Ÿ™‚ http://lifehacker.com/5585217/what-caffeine-actually-does-to-your-brain

  4. Hey there Jennette! You have a very nice, clean looking website girl. Love it! Anyhoo, the caffeine thing. Uh, I had to let that go a few years back. I love me some coffee and tea, just not with caffeine. It must mean that I’m getting old. lol. But I do drink a lot of green tea. Decaf of course. And lots of juicing. But then you’ve already visited my post and know about the detox. When you have little ones, mom needs to take good care of herself. Sounds like you’re on the right track! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      Thanks for stopping by! I’d like to get into juicing. The closest thing would be squeezing lemons for fresh lemonade ๐Ÿ™‚ my son is hooked on it!

      You’re right. Mommas of young kiddos need to take care of themselves. Just, why is that so hard? Ha!

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      Thanks about the website. I’m going to be changing things around here and moving my blog over to my website. Will miss all the cool things WordPress offers. We shall see what kind of plugins we’ll find.

  5. gretchenwing says:

    I’m a tea gal, but I realized back when I was pregnant and switched temporarily to decaf that what I was really addicted to was the feeling of hot water going down my gullet. Mmm, comfort. I still put the teabag in, though, because, really–who drinks hot water??
    When I was teaching, I used to have a designated student in every class whose job it was to tell me where I had set my mug down. Now THAT’s addiction.

    Lovely job with this post! It’s fun to see each other’s growth, isn’t it? Very encouraging! Keep it up!

    • J. L. Mbewe says:

      Hey Gretchen, thanks for stopping by! I agree! I love drinking something warm in the morning, I love how you put it. No body drinks plain old hot water. Ha!

      Thank you, it is exciting to see each others’ growth. I hope I don’t make too much of a mess in my ignorance. Ha! Can’t learn fast enough. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. […] Coffee Brains (jlmbewe.wordpress.com) […]

  7. […] Coffee Brains (jlmbewe.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a comment